Wedding or Wetting

September 18, 2008 at 5:59 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

When Hurricane Ike tore through Texas last weekend, we were lucky to see minimal effects here in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  But that doesn’t mean that there were no problems at all.  I received the following email from one of our viewers:

“Wanted to give you a story about hurricane Ike. Starting in March, my husband and I started planning our dream out-door wedding here in Dallas. As the months went on and the days got closer, the more hard work we put into our out door location. My husband is in the Navy and we are stationed overseas, which made planning through phone and Internet very difficult! Two weeks before our September 13th wedding we flew in and arranged all the last minute details. We got our cake, flowers, food, my dress, photographer…etc. We had to pay extra on everything since it was all so rushed. As we checked the weather everyday, we saw Ike getting closer and closer to Texas, and we got more and more nervous. As the weekend of the wedding neared, we received a ton of calls from relatives in Houston, corpus, and other gulf coast cities saying they had to cancel their trip to our wedding. Our guest list went from 60 down to 32. The day of the wedding we knew it was going to be hard to pull it off outside. My husband and his groomsmen began scrambling in the downpour of Ike trying to re-arrange tents so that I could have my wedding outside- rain or shine.  At 5:00 during the heaviest squalls I walked down the isle soaking and muddying up my dress in the process! We said ” I do” and then continued with the reception inside my Uncles house (since that too was going to be out-doors). Besides being thrilled to marry the man I love, our “wetting” was a disaster! Thanks hurricane Ike.  Of course the next day is beautiful sunshine and not too breezy.  I wish so much we could do it over on a dry day, but I guess we are part of a very small group that can say we got married in a hurricane! – Holly”
 

 

Holly told me that she was happy that she and her new husband had “weathered their first storm” together.

Chief Meteorologist David Finfrock

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

