Jennifer Lopez comes to NBC5

June 20, 2008 at 10:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

No.  Not that Jennifer Lopez.  Not the movie star and singer.

The Jennifer Lopez that we are excited about is a meteorologist.  Jennifer was born in St. Augustine, Florida, and spent much of her childhood there and in Jacksonville, just to the north. 

She has two degrees, one in TV journalism from Florida, and another, a BS in meteorology from Florida State.  For the past eight years she has worked at The Weather Channel, where you are undoubtedly familiar with her work, if you have ever been even a casual fan of that station.

I have admired her work there for years, and was thrilled to learn that she was interested in the open position of morning meteorologist here at NBC5.  Jennifer’s husband flies for the Navy, and his squadron was recently transferred to the Fort Worth Joint Reserve Base.  So a move here made it much easier on her family.  (She has two children, aged 3 and 5).

Jennifer started work here last Monday, but her first week was filled with paperwork, photo shoots, and training on our various computer systems.  But Jennifer will start on the air on Monday June 23rd.   And I know she will do a great job, and that our viewers will take to her quickly.  I already knew of her professional competence.  But in our first week together, I have also learned that for someone with national broadcasting experience, she has no big ego problem (as some national broadcasters do).  She is friendly and down to earth, and I am very pleased to have Jennifer join our weather team. 

I know that James and Steve are also very happy to have her here.  We have been short-handed in the weather department for several months, and have all worked a lot of extra shifts and extra hours.  We are very glad to be back to full strength.

So welcome to Texas, Jennifer.  I know you will like it here.

Chief Meteorologist David Finfrock

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is somebody leaving the morning weather crew? I hope not, since I love all of your weather forecasters! 🙂 I’ve watched NBC 5 for at least 20 years, and I’m in my 30s! Y’all are the best!

  2. Okay, I obviously need to retract my comment above. I went to the NBC 5 anchor site, didn’t see a weather person, googled her, and read of the dismissal. When I saw the date of the article talking about it, I realized that my waking up time of 5:30am for work towards the end of the school year had me in a daze and not observant of the NBC 5 anchors I watch that early. I like every one on NBC 5 – it’s the only news station I watch. That’s a bummer that a long time weather person is gone. 😦 But I’ll still continue to watch (and be observant early in the morning). 🙂

  3. Being a person who does not like change of the programs or people I watch, I am happy with the new person, Jennifer Lopez. See seems like a new friend that I will enjoy getting to know. Welcome to Texas and I hope it is a long stay.
    Melba Tupin


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

