After The Race

April 29, 2008 at 6:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Last Saturday morning I participated in the Tarrant County Race for the Cure, along with about 19,000 of my new friends.  The 5K (3 mile) race itself was delightful.  Some walked.  Some ran.  And many of us did some of each.  The weather was great: sunny, with light winds and temperatures in the 60’s.  And of course, together, we raised a lot of money to help find a cure for breast cancer.

But as nice as the race was, the “after party” was even better.  Sure, there were some nice refreshments, with local companies contributing food and drink to the cause.   NBC5 had a big contingent there.  Deborah Ferguson was the emcee for the event.  Meredith Land did some stories for the evening news.  And several other reporters were there as well, to do live shots, or to just run with the rest of us.  Here I am with some of my co-workers, Kristi Nelson, Susy Solis and Melissa Newton:

 Part of the NBC5 team

I also had great opportunities for some one-on-one discussions with a number of cancer survivors, and their family and friends.  I was amazed to find out just how many women have contracted breast cancer in their 30’s.  I thought Jennifer’s case was really unusual.  But I discovered that cancer among younger women is much more common than I had realized.  But some of the women I talked to had been cancer survivors for 30 years and more:

Men and a cancer survivor

I was able to spend “quality time” with a lot of enthusiasts about finding a cure for breast cancer.  This group was great fun!  

 Me and the Pink Ladies

 

 I made a lot of new friends at the Race for the Cure Saturday.  And you can see why I will be looking forward to participating again next year!  Let’s find a cure.

Chief Meteorologist David Finfrock

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

