The Cowtown Marathon

February 22, 2008 at 11:06 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Early Saturday morning, February 23, the streets of dowtown Fort Worth will be teeming with thousands of participants, volunteers and spectators for the 30th annual Cowtown.  This year, in addition to the 5K, 10K and Marathon races, there will be a new UltraMarathon of 50K (over 31 miles).

I ran the 1988 Cowtown Marathon myself.  It was a warm and muggy day, with temperatures in the 70’s.  Not good for long distance running.  But I still finished the 26 mile course, in 4 hours and 17 minutes.  That was a lifetime goal I had set for myself, to complete at least one Marathon.  And I am still  very proud that I was able to do it.  But I am not really tempted to run that kind of distance again!  Instead, I generally have run the 10K or 5K races each year since then.

 And yes, I will be downtown in the crowd Saturday morning.  It will be chilly at daybreak, with clear skies and temperatures in the upper 30’s.  When the races start at 7:30, it will still be in the low 40’s.  So dress warmly while you wait for the start.  But once you start running, you will warm up quickly.  With sunshine and light winds, the temperature will climb into the 50’s very quickly.  By noon, it will be well into the 60’s.  And the temperature will top out around 68 by 3 pm.

Looks like a great day for a run.  I hope to see you there!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

