Another Close Call

January 25, 2008 at 6:47 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

In the words of one of my favorite comics, Little Jimmy Norton, I don’t like winter weather……….I LOVE it!!

You can understand my on-going, constant, perpetual disappointment at the 2007/2008 winter weather season so far. Don’t get me wrong, I would never wish for freezing rain. Besides tornadoes and floods, freezing rain is probably the most dangerous and frustrating type of weather here in North Texas. It can shut down the city and make a five minute trip to the store absolutely horrifying.

But just give me something; anything that reminds me of growing up in New Jersey. I don’t need an entire season of snow – just one or two storms to feed my craving. The fact is, we have been incredibly lucky this year. It looks like the day that most resembled winter was in the fall: Thanskgiving, with its brief but impressive snow showers. There have now been four major storms and a couple of minor storms that flirted with North Texas but really spared us. Talk to folks to our west or up in Oklahoma and they will tell you how bad of a season they have had.

Now, today, the folks that saw sub-freezing temps saw little rain and those of us who saw the most precipitation couldn’t get down to the freezing mark. Let me reiterate that I am happy we missed a major ice storm; I just can’t believe how difficult is has been for the conditions to be just perfect for wintry weather.

In one month I will be, oh dear, this is not easy. I will be, um, thirty-two. Yes, it is difficult to actually imagine. It would not be so tough to stomach if I weren’t feeling older. Yesterday, I finished doing the 4pm news and I went home. Between about 8 and 9pm, I ran for an hour around Fort Worth as I do regularly. For most of the run, I was hit with a combination of light rain and little tiny ice pellets. It was wonderful. It was refeshing. I felt alive. But I realized that if it weren’t for the novelty of running in ice, last night would have be uncomfortable. I used to think running in the cold was the greatest thing in the world. But lately, I actually find myself longing for warmer days. I have never been a fan of summer here in Texas; I think the spring and fall are just perfect whereas only a couple of years ago, I found running in the winter to be invigorating. I could never understand why my grandma always wears a sweater or complains it’s too cold. I guess as we get older, we start hating cold weather. And that is how I know I am growing up.

I am rambling again…But here’s my point: It is winter and it feels like winter. How about it actually be winter? I think we all look forward to snow or sleet or a day off from school or work. When winter keeps teasing us and it’s bitterly cold outside and it’s raining and there’s no snow, it makes a winter day go from exciting to kind of depressing. On the other hand, I changed lanes today on an overpass on my way to work and I didn’t slide into the median, so things could be a LOT worse.

Steve Mac

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

