Is There Something Else Wrong with David?

September 8, 2007 at 1:41 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I just want to head off a lot of emails and phone calls that I know are coming. No, I am not home sick again. Actually I will be off this next week for a vacation that I scheduled last January.

Healthwise, I have continued to improve, although I am not 100%. I still have an occasional cough. But it’s nothing like it was a month ago. And I expect continued improvement. So thanks for your concern, but I am doing fine.

As for my vacation, I am not headed for some exotic location like Iceland, Antarctica or Easter Island (although those have been some of my past vacation destinations). Instead I am spending a week trying to learn to play the guitar! That is something I have tried a couple of times before, dating back to my college days. And I could learn either to use my left hand to form the chords, or I could strum the strings with my right hand. But I could never get a handle on doing both simultaneously. So after a month or two, I would get frustrated and give it up. But my wife Shari gave me a new guitar as a gift recently, and I decided I would try again. I have been practicing a little on my own, but a week-long course with an accomplished teacher will hopefully make a difference this time. Now that I think about it, maybe I should have just asked Steve MacLaughlin. He is evidently quite a guitar player and singer!

On a different note (no pun intended), you may have noticed some big changes that occured on NBC5 this week. On Friday, we officially launched our news broadcast in High Definition, from a new set in the revamped studio. For the past six weeks, we have been doing our newscasts each day from a temporary set in the newsroom. Now we are back in the studio. But it is totally different. Our staff of meteorologists is really pleased, because the entire set was designed and built around the Weather Center. It is beautiful to be sure (especially if you have an HD television set). But behind the beauty is function. Our new Weather Center was specifically designed so that we would have all the tools we need within arm’s reach, when we are involved in continuous weather coverage during severe weather. Let’s hope we don’t have to use it too often. But the next time severe weather strikes north Texas, we will be more than ready for it.

And there is more to come. Stay tuned, and watch carefully in the coming weeks. Before the end of September, we will have some more big changes in the way we present our weathercasts each day. It’s going to get better and better.

By the way, if you don’t yet have HDTV, don’t worry. I don’t have one at home yet either. But we will all have to make a switch to digital TV sets in the next 18 months. As I understand it, TV broadcasts nationwide will continue in both analog and digital formats until February 2009. But after that, everyone will need a digital TV. That doesn’t mean everyone will have to buy an HDTV set. There will be relatively inexpensive converter boxes that will become available if you want to contine to use your old television a while longer. But with more and more programming switching to High Definition (including our NBC5 broadcasts) there will be more incentive to buy a HDTV set in the next year and a half. I am not a techno-geek. In fact I am usually one of the last in the neighborhood to buy the latest electronic gadgets. But I’m thinking I will have to break down and get a HDTV set before too much longer. And I’m sure many of you reading this will be joining me.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. thanks for the update. so glad to hear that your health has improved and that you are going to take a much deserved vacation.

    truly hope you learn the gutiar and that your dream of playing is finally realized.

    the new weather station looks wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

