Funny Reactions to my Blogs

August 23, 2007 at 8:41 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 11 Comments

I want to thank all of my regular viewers who have had to put up with my rasping voice and frequent coughs the past few weeks. It has been nice to use this Weather Blog to share a little of what I have been going through. And it’s even nicer to see the caring comments I have received in turn to each of my blogs.

What you haven’t seen is the dozens of emails and phone calls I also receive each day. One reader, Kay Harris, got a laugh about what I wrote yesterday about the winner of this week’s America’s Got Talent program. Here’s what she had to say:

“I got a laugh out of your thinking Terry Fator had several voices for the doctor to care for, and I am very glad he won.
I know you’re anxious to get back to telling the weather, and that the rest of your team is highly qualified but it takes a little more than qualifications to make it in my books. I actually considered contacting your boss to see if you could have someone speak as you stood up to give your forecast (now I wonder if Terry Fator would do it for you, hee-hee). You are the one that needs to be in front of the camera so we know it’s your work. You just don’t have to be the one saying the words.”

That would indeed be fun if we could get him to come in and let me be his venriloquist’s dummy! But I’m afraid Terry Fator is pretty busy headlining in Las Vegas these days.

Earlier today, Dallas Morning News columnist Steve Blow even wrote an article about my coughing fits. You can find it here: www.dallasnews.com/steveblow

And after that column ran, Steve Blow wrote back to me telling me about a comment he received about the story from one of his viewers: Dilbert from the comics page. Well, actually, it was from Dilbert’s creator Scott Adams. Like Diane Rehm from National Public Radio, Scott said that he suffered from a serious throat ailment called spasmodic dysphonia. Here’s how he described it:

“I couldn’t speak above a whisper for more than a year. Talking is one of those things you take for granted until it’s gone. It didn’t hurt physically, but the loneliness was almost unbearable. It turns out that listening doesn’t cure loneliness, only talking.”

Here is a recent story that MSNBC did on Scott Adam’s illness:
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15446515/

Scott also watched the linked video of me coughing on one of my earlier blogs. And he said that spasmodic dysphonia doesn’t appear to be my problem.

The main point I wanted to make is that there are a lot of people with voice problems, and it’s interesting that Dilbert puts a human(?) face on the problem.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am a dedicated NBC5 watcher. I knew you were having some problems and being a speech-language pathologist, I am so glad it is not by far the worst diagnosis! Looking forward to seeing you on the air soon.

    Ginger

  2. I have been a Finfrock fan since moving back to Ft. Worth after 14 years in Houston. I had been concerned about your cough and was really glad to learn that it is not terribly serious. Hope to see you back on the air soon.

    Liz

  3. I have been watching channel 5 news and weather for as long as I can remember. The weather is just not the same without you. Get well soon. Ruby

  4. Hello, I am so glad to hear you are feeling better, my family and I watch you alot. thanks Rene goodman

  5. Just like Liz, I’m also a huge fan of David FinFrock. Interestingly enough, he’s the one who inspired me for a career of meteorology. After having seen one episode of him on the air with that bad cough, it did worry me a little. I have lived in the DFW area for almost my entire life and I would always watch NBC for news and weather. I’m just really glad your ok David, so let’s hope you can keep your career in check with weather. ^_^

  6. David,

    I watch the NBC5 news and weather report everyday. I’ve only been living in the Dallas area for 1 year but I have come to look forward to seeing the Finfrock weather report. Take care of your self. Hope to see you back on the air real soon.

    Patricia

  7. I have had the same problem and I believe it is related to the high level ozone problems we have been experiencing. So, hang in there! I think it’s going to clear up soon!

    Terri

  8. WE WANT FINFROCK WE WANT FINFROCK

    WE WANT FINFROCK!!!!!!!

    Hurry back soon and in good health!! We miss you……

    Carolyn
    9:39 AM

  9. Mr. Finfrock,
    I’m so glad that I finally got a chance to read what was wrong with you. My son and I watch you all the time, and we’ve missed you! I’m glad to hear that your feeling better, and that your getting help for your poor voice.. Please take care and get better. We’re looking forward to seeing you back on the air soon!!

    Julie & Randall

  10. David: Lets not discuss just how many years I’ve been watching you on channel 5, instead lets just say that I saw your very first appearance. My my that has been awhile back, I remember thinking he will never be able to fill those shoes. Well I admit it I was oh so wrong, there are times I don’t want to watch if you are not on, so it’s been a struggle with your absence. The other guys do a good job, but they are not you. It’s great to hear that things are getting better now, stay well! I miss you! Betty C.Anderson

  11. I am just glad to know that you are better and that you can be in front of the camera again.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

